Morning at Barn Hoppitt, Epping Forest

Today I left my home at 6:30am so I could catch the early morning light shining on one of my favourite trees by the pond at Barn Hoppitt.  I was not disappointed, it was a beautiful spring day, the birds were singing and all the people I met seemed to have  smiles on their faces whilst they were enjoying a walk in the sunshine. The first person I met had two beautiful greyhounds who kindly let me photograph them. I didn’t have time to change from my wide-angle lens but actually quite like the perspective it gave.

Web 72 -_DSC5362

Dog Walker at Barn Hoppitt, Epping Forest

I made two mistakes today I forgot to bring a model release form for when I photograph any people and I also forgot the plate which connects my camera to the tripod!  Lucky I had enough light today to get a fast shutter speed and hopefully I will bump into this man again.

I also met another dog walker whose husky took a dip in the pond, he looked so refreshed when he came splashing out but I had to protect my camera as he had a good shake when he came past.  The man told me about a tree which he likes nearby which overhangs, I didn’t ask the location but hopefully I will come across it on my travels.

Web 72 -_DSC5478-Edit

Spring Morning at Warren Pond, Barn Hoppitt, Epping Forest

The last people I met were a couple, I shall presume married.  The wife Cheryl told me about her childhood memories of a tree she calls the Aeroplane Tree at Pole Hill.  Apparently kids past and present all pretend they’re an aeroplane when they climb it.  The husband David used to be a Pond Bailiff and is now a bee keeper.  He was looking for a wild bees nest that he had been told about in the forest and came back to tell me when he had found it and showed me a picture.  I gave them my email address and they promised to email me as I would love to talk to them again and hear about their many stories about the forest.

Later on I met Jeremy Dagley, the Head of Conservation and he showed me the holes where solitary bees live around the roots of the tree I was photographing.  He also told me what birds we could hear singing which were Black Caps, Mistle Thrushes and Nut Hatches. I have since been listening to Radio 4s ‘Tweet of the Day’ so I can recognise which birds are singing when I’m about in the forest, I think it will take me a long time to recognise them all.

Web 72 -_DSC5498

Holes under ancient tree root for solitary miner bees

Lastly, this is the tree that I came to photograph.  I checked the LightTrac app on my phone to see where the sun would be when I arrived but I didn’t account for my shadow getting in the way!

Web 72 -_DSC5449

Me and my shadow

This image was taken a little earlier in the golden light and I have edited myself out of the picture.  If you are very small you could actually climb underneath this tree and through the other side.  This tree looks different from all angles, it looks like a crab and others have said Medusa and a Lion’s Head.  I would love to know your thoughts and what you think this tree’s name should be.

Web 72_DSC5341-Edit(c) Marion Sidebottom

Ancient Oak Tree at Barn Hoppitt, Epping Forest

lottery_Logo_Black RGB

About Marion's Eye

Photographer & Mixed Media Artist
This entry was posted in Ancient, Ancient Tree, Artist in Residence, Botanical, Epping Forest, Essex, Forest, Gnarly, Hollow Tree, Landscape Photography, Marion Sidebottom, Marion's Eye, Nature, Oak Tree, Photography, Roots, Tree Photography, Trees, Woodland and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Morning at Barn Hoppitt, Epping Forest

  1. hamertheframer says:

    Lovely post Marion. Wish I was there today.

Leave a Reply

